Requirements to Play in the Players Championship


The Players Championship began in 1974 and was originally called the Tournament Players Championship. Unlike typical PGA Tour events, which are run by local organizations, The Players Championship is run by the PGA Tour and the players themselves.

The tournament, also called simply The Players, has been played at the Stadium Golf Course at the TPC Sawgrass Country Club in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida since 1982. It has been played in May the past several years.

Why is it called the fifth major?

In spite of its prestige, the Players Championship is not one of the four major championships; which are the U.S. open, PGA championship, The Masters tournament, and The Open Championship. However, The Players Championship is a desirable event for golfers around the world for many reasons. The event is prestigious because of its deep, talented field. It also offers the biggest purse of any PGA Tour event.

In 2012, for example, The Players Championship purse totals $9.5 million, $1 million more than any other official PGA Tour tournament. K.J. Choi, the 2011 Players Championship winner, took home a first prize of $1.71 million.

How to play in the Players Championship

The PLAYERS Championship - Round One

The field is made up of 144 golfers and based on numerous eligibility standards. With few exceptions, you must be a PGA Tour member to compete in The Players Championship and meet criteria like being in top 125 of the Fedex Cup points standings, being top 50 in the official world golf ranking or being one of the winners of PGA tour events in the previous year. Any non-PGA Tour players who end up qualifying for the event likely were Tour players in the recent past or have played well in at least some Tour events. The most likely non-PGA Tour player to compete in The Players Championship is the previous year’s Senior Players Championship winner, who earns an automatic invitation.

What is the TPC Sawgrass’s signature hole?

The Stadium Course's signature hole is the 17th hole, with its famed “island green.” The par-3 hole sounds fairly routine on paper.

Although the green is smaller than average at 3,912 square feet, it’s only 121 yards from the middle of the championship tee area to the front of the green and 146 yards to the back of the green. But most of the green is surrounded by a large pond, with only a thin walkway providing access.

Who won the 2022 Players Championship?

The 2022 version of the golf tournament was one by Australian star Cameron Smith. He shot 13 under last year wowing fans and caddies alike, as he held off Anirban Lahriri who was one stroke behind him on the leaderboard. However he will not be competing this year as his champions exemption was pulled due to his move to LIV Golf.

What is the format of the Players Championship?

The Players Championship is a 72 hole tournament that uses a stroke play format. It starts on a Thursday and its final round lands on a sunday. If there is a tie, a three-hole aggregate playoff is played starting at the famous 17th hole.

Jack Nicklaus has the most Players Championships with three, followed by Tiger Woods with two. Other notable professional golfers who have won include Rory Mcilroy, Sergio Garcia and Justin Thomas.