Who Gets a Ring When a Team Wins a Championship?

So Who Gets a Championship Ring?

    When any major league sports team (NBA, NFL, MLB) wins a championship, all members of the organization receive a ring. This means that aside from the starting players, the reserve players, the coaching staff and the administration for the organization receive a ring.

Recent Example: 2010 NBA Champion L.A. Lakers

    In the 2010 NBA Finals, the Los Angeles Lakers defeated the Boston Celtics to claim their 16th NBA title. All members of the squad received a championship ring. Its interesting to note that players such as Luke Walton and

    Adam Morrison, who barely get minutes, have more rings (yes they have multiple!) than players such as Lebron James, who are still eagerly striving for one.

Fun Facts

    NBA greats Patrick Ewing and Charles Barkley did not win any championships in their careers.

    Robert Horry has won seven NBA rings with three different teams (Houston Rockets, Los Angeles Lakers, San Antonio Spurs)

    It is up to management's discretion to award other members of the organization, such as cheerleaders, with rings.

About the Author

This article was written by the SportsRec team, copy edited and fact checked through a multi-point auditing system, in efforts to ensure our readers only receive the best information. To submit your questions or ideas, or to simply learn more about SportsRec, contact us here.