List of Colleges in Georgia That Have Wrestling Teams

National Collegiate Athletic Association

    Shorter University not only competes against other Georgia programs, it branches out to face major NCAA programs. In 2014 Shorter hosted Duke University in a duel meet.

National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Three four-year schools in Georgia have NAIA wrestling programs. They are:

    Brewton-Parker College, Mt. Vernon

    Life University, Marietta

    Truett McDonell College, Cleveland

National Junior College Athletic Association

    Darton State College in Albany, which is primarily a two-year school, has a wrestling team affiliated with the NJCAA. But Darton competes against the state's four-year college programs in duel meets and the annual Georgia Intercollegiate Championships.

National Collegiate Wrestling Association

    In addition to those five schools with sanctioned intercollegiate programs, there are seven four-year universities in Georgia with club wrestling teams. Those non-scholarship teams operate outside the athletic departments of those schools, but they give top wrestlers a chance to compete. These teams compete in the Southeast Conference and in the two divisions of the NCWA. They are:

    Mercer University, Atlanta, Division I

    Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, Division I

    Emory University, Atlanta, Division II

    Georgia Tech University, Atlanta, Division II

    Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, Division II

    University of Georgia, Athens, Division II

    University of North Georgia, Dahlonega, Division II

About the Author

Jeff Gordon has been reporting and writing since 1977. His most recent work has appeared on websites such as eHow, GolfLink, Ask Men, Open Sports, Fox Sports and MSN. He has previously written for publications such as "The Sporting News" and "The Hockey News." He graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Journalism in 1979 with a bachelor's degree.