NFL Football: New York Giants Super Bowl Wins

Super Bowl XLII

Like many other sporting franchises in New York, the Giants have had great success. Founded in 1925, the Giants have been an important team in the history of the NFL and has seen many great players like Lawrence Taylor, Michael Strahan, Eli Manning and more. Among their success is the multiple Super Bowl championships the franchise has earned.

How many Super Bowls have the Giants won?

The New York Giants have won 4 Super Bowls in their NFL history. Their most recent championship came in 2011 against the Patriots. The Giants have appeared in five Super Bowls. Their only loss came in Super Bowl XXXV when they lost to the Baltimore Ravens 34-7.

When did the Giants win their first Super Bowl?

Super Bowl XXI (1986 season) - New York Giants 39, Denver Broncos 20.

This Giants won their first Super Bowl against the Denver Broncos on January 25, 1987 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California during Super Bowl XXI. Giants quarterback Phil Simms was named Super Bowl MVP after completing 22 of 25 passes for 268 yards, 3 touchdowns and achieved a passer rating of 150.9, the highest in Super Bowl history. The Bill Parcelis led team had insane talent in its offense led by Simms and the defense nicknamed "The Big Blue Wrecking Crew". This defense held John Elway to just one passing TD as the Giants dominated.

What Super Bowls did the Giants win?

Super Bowl XXV (1990 season) - New York Giants 20, Buffalo Bills 19.

Super Bowl XXV took place on January 27, 1991 at Tampa Stadium in Tampa, Florida. They faced their in state rival Buffalo Bills who were led by star QB Jim Kelly. The Giants had possession for over forty minutes, thanks to an incredible run game and defense. It was a very close game decided by a missed Buffalo field goal in the final seconds by Scott Norwood. Giants running back Otis Anderson won Super Bowl MVP. He rushed 21 times for 102 yards and a touchdown.

Super Bowl XLII (2007 season) - New York Giants 17, New England Patriots 14.

The Giants pulled off a huge upset over the previously undefeated Patriots, winning the game on February 3, 2008 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona during Super Bowl XLII. Going up against the undefeated Patriots led by Tom Brady and Randy Moss seemed like a tall task, but the Giants kept it close during the 4th quarter. The Giants were down 10-14 with 2:39 left in the game. The Giants offense led by Eli Manning were able to put together a miracle drive, thanks to a now iconic "helmet catch" by David Tyree. The drive would end with a touchdown pass to Plaxico Burress giving the Giants the lead. Quarterback Eli Manning was named Super Bowl MVP after leading the game-winning drive in the 4th quarter.

Super Bowl XLVI (2011 season) - New York Giants 21, New England Patriots 17

In a Super Bowl XLII rematch, the Giants again beat the Patriots on February 5, 2012 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana during Super Bowl XLVI. It was an improbable postseason for the Giants as they came into the Super Bowl with just a 9-7 record. The team yet again lacked the star power that the Patriots had with Ahmad Bradshaw and Victor Cruz acting as the Giants top offensive players. However, Quarterback Eli Manning was nearly perfect going for 296 yards and 1 touchdown. The Giants defense was able to tame an elite Patriots offense to prevent another Patriots championship. Eli Manning won his second Super Bowl MVP award after another strong performance.